The discovery of the power of steam, ushered in a whole new lifestyle. The railway network began a new age. Waterfall station opened in 1851, not long after the worst of the famine, but still very hungry times for many Irish people, and it closed in 1961. To get on the train at Waterfall and travel to the seaside in Courtmacsherry was a whole new exciting experience for the people of Ballinora, and why not. Farmers too were delighted. They could now go to the fair at their leisure, to Bandon, Clonakilty, and as far away as Skibbereen. They could now fill the wagons with beet as well, and get it transported to Mallow Sugar factory. Unfortunately, in every rose there is a thorn. A fireman, James O Leary from Spring Lane in Cork City fell from the railway bridge nearby in 1949 and died in the Mercy Hospital from a fractured skull. He didn’t realise there was such a high embankment apparently and the train had moved beyond the platform.